<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Friggin Fraudsters</title>
	<atom:link href="http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters</link>
	<description>Random musings of a Southern geek</description>
	<pubDate>Sat, 10 Jan 2009 00:38:07 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.7.1-alpha-10188</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: Miles Cochran</title>
		<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/comment-page-1#comment-24641</link>
		<dc:creator>Miles Cochran</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 17 Jul 2005 21:14:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">//?p=#comment-24641</guid>
		<description>I have tried to get removed from Paypal's since the day I signed up for it. I don't trust it and will never use it, So if you somehow know how to get me off your listing, please do so. I have had two more messages today July 17th, 2005 that tell me someone else has been trying to use it. Please cancel me from your listing ASAP.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I have tried to get removed from Paypal&#8217;s since the day I signed up for it. I don&#8217;t trust it and will never use it, So if you somehow know how to get me off your listing, please do so. I have had two more messages today July 17th, 2005 that tell me someone else has been trying to use it. Please cancel me from your listing ASAP.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Anonymous</title>
		<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/comment-page-1#comment-1165</link>
		<dc:creator>Anonymous</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 16 Sep 2004 21:28:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">//?p=#comment-1165</guid>
		<description>I want to get rid of home.myway.com</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I want to get rid of home.myway.com</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Dougal</title>
		<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/comment-page-1#comment-632</link>
		<dc:creator>Dougal</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 08 Jun 2004 13:59:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">//?p=#comment-632</guid>
		<description>Louise, I tried to email you, but my message bounced.  Hopefully, you'll come back and see this.

Try a program called &lt;a href="http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/"&gt;Ad-aware&lt;/a&gt;.  This will help clean up spyware and parasite programs that have made their way into your computer.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Louise, I tried to email you, but my message bounced.  Hopefully, you&#8217;ll come back and see this.</p>
<p>Try a program called <a href="http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/">Ad-aware</a>.  This will help clean up spyware and parasite programs that have made their way into your computer.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: louise</title>
		<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/comment-page-1#comment-631</link>
		<dc:creator>louise</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 08 Jun 2004 04:21:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">//?p=#comment-631</guid>
		<description>The site home.myway.com/ keeps coming up on my screen all the time.  I have requested I do not want it....still comes up....Stops me accessing other sites I want to....has anyone heard of this site?  Please how can I get rid of it ?  Nothing works ?  There is a tapping sound when I go to enter on my key board, this is not very nice.
Many thanks,
Louise</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The site home.myway.com/ keeps coming up on my screen all the time.  I have requested I do not want it&#8230;.still comes up&#8230;.Stops me accessing other sites I want to&#8230;.has anyone heard of this site?  Please how can I get rid of it ?  Nothing works ?  There is a tapping sound when I go to enter on my key board, this is not very nice.<br />
Many thanks,<br />
Louise</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Annette Crawford</title>
		<link>http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2003/11/20/friggin-fraudsters/comment-page-1#comment-239</link>
		<dc:creator>Annette Crawford</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 26 Nov 2003 16:35:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">//?p=#comment-239</guid>
		<description>Found this website while trying to find out where to renew my tags in Coffee County.  Thought the Dougal saga to be very amusing.  

I also was bitten by the PayPal scam.  I did open the attachment (which I now realize was stupid) but when it was opened the scamsters had the nerve to ask people for their credit card numbers along with their PIN numbers just in case they had problems with the financial institution.  Banks don't even ask for PIN numbers.

I contacted Pay Pal and they asked that I forward them the email that I had received.  The email address I sent it to was www.spoof@paypal.com.  A copy of the response I got from PayPal is shown below...

  Thank you for bringing this incident of suspicious activity to our 
attention.  It can be confirmed that the email you have received was NOT sent to you by PayPal.  Below are some of the warning signs to suggest this email was not from PayPal:
 
1. The email addresses the user as "Dear PayPal Member".  All emails that are sent from PayPal will address the user by their First and Last name
2.  The email requests that you run an attachment.  All emails that are sent from PayPal will never request that our users download any files or run any attachments. 
3.  The email states that "your account will be suspended within five
business days if you ignore this alert".  PayPal will never ask for account information, your email address or your password, unless you are logged into your PayPal account or when you are logging into 
https://www.paypal.com

If you are concerned that your computer has been infected by this virus, downloaded the file, or entered your account information into the pop-up attachment, please respond to this email.
 
We appreciate your concern and thank you for making PayPal the most trusted online payment service.
 
Sincerely,
 
The PayPal Team</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Found this website while trying to find out where to renew my tags in Coffee County.  Thought the Dougal saga to be very amusing.  </p>
<p>I also was bitten by the PayPal scam.  I did open the attachment (which I now realize was stupid) but when it was opened the scamsters had the nerve to ask people for their credit card numbers along with their PIN numbers just in case they had problems with the financial institution.  Banks don&#8217;t even ask for PIN numbers.</p>
<p>I contacted Pay Pal and they asked that I forward them the email that I had received.  The email address I sent it to was <a href="http://www.spoof@paypal.com" >http://www.spoof@paypal.com</a>.  A copy of the response I got from PayPal is shown below&#8230;</p>
<p>  Thank you for bringing this incident of suspicious activity to our<br />
attention.  It can be confirmed that the email you have received was NOT sent to you by PayPal.  Below are some of the warning signs to suggest this email was not from PayPal:</p>
<p>1. The email addresses the user as &#8220;Dear PayPal Member&#8221;.  All emails that are sent from PayPal will address the user by their First and Last name<br />
2.  The email requests that you run an attachment.  All emails that are sent from PayPal will never request that our users download any files or run any attachments.<br />
3.  The email states that &#8220;your account will be suspended within five<br />
business days if you ignore this alert&#8221;.  PayPal will never ask for account information, your email address or your password, unless you are logged into your PayPal account or when you are logging into<br />
<a href="https://www.paypal.com" >https://www.paypal.com</a></p>
<p>If you are concerned that your computer has been infected by this virus, downloaded the file, or entered your account information into the pop-up attachment, please respond to this email.</p>
<p>We appreciate your concern and thank you for making PayPal the most trusted online payment service.</p>
<p>Sincerely,</p>
<p>The PayPal Team</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
